Distinguished Fellows

Distinguished Fellows

MABIC is guided by prominent figures in the field of biotechnology. They provide check and balance on our direction, and the accuracy of our information, allow us to leverage on their network, and serve as resource persons when needed.


Prof. Dr. Abu Bakar Salleh

Biotech Professor, Universiti Putra Malaysia

Prof. Dr. Rofina Yasmin Othman

Professor, University of Malaya

Prof. Dr. Wickneswari Ratnam

Professor, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia

Prof. Sadequr Rahman, Senior

Deputy Head of School, School of Science, Monash University Malaysia

Assoc. Prof. Kumaran Narayanan

Deputy Head of School (Research), School of Science, Monash University Malaysia


Head, Department of Biomedical Sciences, Monash University Malaysia

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Norihan Mohd Salleh

Director General, Agri Biotechnology Institute, Ministry of Energy, Science, Technology, Environment and Climate Change

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Koh Cheng Lek

High Impact Research, University of Malaya

Prof. Vilasini Pillai

Dean, Faculty of Applied Science, Quest University

Prof. Sudesh Kumar

Professor, School of Biological Sciences, Universiti Sains Malaysia

Associates Professor Emily Goh Joo Kheng

Head, School of Science, Monash University Malaysia Sdn Bhd

Emeritus Professor Dato’ Dr Visweswaran Navaratnam

Taylor’s University Pro Vice-Chancellor, Postgraduates, Research & Strategic Development

Dato’ Dr. Marzalina Mansor

Biotechnology Director, Forest Research Institute Malaysia

Dr. Ravigadevi Sambanthamurthi

Former Biotechnology Head, Malaysian Palm Oil Board

Dr. Shaikh Mohd Saifuddeen B. Shaikh Mohd Salleh

Director, Academy for Islamic Studies, University of Malaya

Mr. P. Kandiah

Managing Director, KASS International Sdn Bhd

Dr. K. Harikrishna

Senior Vice President II, Sime Darby Plantation

Dr. Kodiswaran Kandasamy

Ms. Theresa Manavalan

Former Editor, Sunday People, New Straits Times

Dr. Umi Kalsom Abu Bakar

Crops for the Future, Nottingham University


Prof. Steven Langford

Professor, Associate Dean, Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology, Swinburne University of Technology

Prof. Dr. Bruce M. Chassy

Associate Director, Biotechnology Communication and Outreach, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Prof. Paul Teng

Managing Director and Dean, NIE International Pte. Ltd Chairman, ISAAA

Dr. Clive James

Emeritus Chair, Board of Directors ISAAA, USA

Dr. Anwar Nasim

National Commission on Biotechnology, Pakistan

Prof. Dr. Kalai Mathee

Founding Chair and Professor, Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Florida International University, USA